Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

As I was out on my typical Wednesday errands, I figured that this would be a very timely blog to write.  This blog will touch on 2 of the topics I’m passionate about:  Health and Finances.

As my husband and I began living on a less than single income with 2 kids, we were looking for any way to keep up our organic, gluten-free, whole food lifestyle.  I was also really looking for a way to get out of the usual Broccoli, Carrot, hum-drum we seemed to have fallen into.  When I first started looking into all of the AMAZING choices we have in the NW, I decided on a local Community Supported Agriculture program (CSA).  Terry’s Berries in Puyallup became my CSA home.

What is a CSA, you may ask?  Well, in short, it’s like being part owner in a farm.  You pay a set rate and partake in the bounty (or sometimes lack of) and help to keep a farm up and running.  And lets face it, we need our farmland to STAY farmland.

The price breakdown of said share depends on the season.  My Mom and I decided to jump in early and buy a full year share (to split between us) for  $1,100.  The weekly cost is roughly $12/each, and we get a TON of fresh produce.  Not bad at all!

Not only is the price right, but it has helped me transition our family to a plant-based, seasonal diet.   My kids ask me for things like broccoli, summer squash, and kohl-rabi.  Not only do I find satisfaction in the fact that I’m saving money while making healthy choices, but hearing Evey tell her Grandma and Great Grandma that vegetables are her favorite, is priceless.

For more information and comparisons of local, Organic CSA’s and produce deliveries, stay tuned for C.S.A! Part: 2.

